• banner
  • banner
  • banner
  • banner

Same road, same rules, same rights

This year, OVCATA, with help from the Ministry of Transporation of Ontario, has produced these safety info cards for cyclists and motorists, as well as bumper stickers,  and has been distributing them at events throughout the Ottawa Valley. Please contact at info@ovcata.ca if you would like to receive some to distribute.

Welcome to the Alliance! 

Interest and participation in cycling and Active Transportation (AT) has been growing exponentially, but until recently, there was no unified voice in the Ottawa Valley. That's why OVCATA - the Ottawa Valley Cycling and Active Transportation Alliance - was formed by a group of friends who have been organizing and advocating locally for cycling and AT for several years. We've formed the Alliance to bring us together and speak for our needs, and you're invited!

OVCATA works to educate and advocate for the interests and safety of all cyclists and everyone who participates in AT. We bring  people together in support of better infrastructure, education and resources for AT, which is a major benefit in terms of our collective health and well-being, the environment, and the economy.

So please join the Alliance by clicking here. It's free and can really benefit you by:

  • representing your interests with municipalities, the County and the provincial government
  • giving you info on events, rides, and conditions
  • bringing you together with others who share your interests.

Please fill in the sign-up form and let us know if you'd like to help out. It takes a lot of people working together to achieve Critical Mass! Check out all the info, events and rides listed on the site, and let us know if you have info to share.

Join Now

Charter directors of OVCATA

Ish Theilheimer (Golden Lake)
Shawna Babcock (Deep River)

Secretary: Ron Moss (Pembroke)
Treasurer: Debbie Fiebig (Renfrew)
Communications Chair: Steve D'Eon (Deep River)
Education Chair: Ole Hendrickson (Ottawa / Morrison's Island)
Membership Chair: David Wieser (Petawawa)

Members at large:
Peter Hageraats (Pembroke / Ottawa)
Chris Hinsperger (Eganville)
Damien McCarthy (Petawawa)
Jeff Mills (Almonte)

Robert Howe of Barrys Bay provides legal advice and support.